Jayme & Nicholas Get Married

Jayme & Nick got married April 27th, in the town of Chester, Connecticut in a little white church on a warm sunny day, but let me rewind a bit. We struggled a bit deciding on what to get them off of their wedding registry but we just ended up getting them a gift certificate. I wanted to add a more personalized touch and make a really nice card / gift card holder. In high school I took British literature and read Sonnet 116 by Shakespeare. (It is easily one of my favorite poems you can read it paraphrased here.) One of my favorite lines, “It is the star to every wandering bark,” meaning that love is the guiding north star to every lost ship. I based the overall design on that line as well as other references through out the Sonnet and I went with a nautical and vintage feel with navy, white, and bakers twine. I went to Michaels and found this gorgeous navy blue card stock with a subtle shimmer which I accordion folded and wrote the Sonnet from top to bottom, so the card opens up rather than from side to side. I have an enormous spool of red and white bakers twine which I tied on either ends to hold the card together. I recycled a brown paper bag from Whole Foods which had white screen print that ended up looking really pretty on the inside of the envelope. Target has some pretty cute gift cards so I attached it to the bottom of the card with some tape and drew a little sailboat and the north star. Pete was making fun of me that “She’s crafting out of control!” Maybe.. but I am really happy with the way it came out. I also got to break out some of my favorite tools like my metal triangle and bone folder, right angles and crisp folds are a must. (Shamus also made sure she lent a helping hand.) Congratulations Jayme & Nick!

Leave a Reply

